Hawks complete a star-studded season

Hawks complete a star-studded season
Posted on 12/11/2020

The St. Mary’s football team received many honors on the road to the 2020 state championship tournament crown. From team awards, to district awards, to state awards, the Hawks were blessed with talent and determination.

Seniors Jeremy Koenck and Blaine Harpenau wanted to say a special thank you to the fans. “Thanks for coming out every game and making it feel like a home game even if we were away,” said Koenck. Harpenau added, “Thanks for all the love and support.”

The following is a list of awards received by the Hawks:

RSM Team Awards

Rudy Award-Dawson Harpenau

Austin Steichen Lineman of the Year-Xavier Galles

Most Improved-Alex Schroeder

Newcomer of the Year-Ty Tritz

Offensive MVP-Blaine Harpenau and Jeremy Koenck

Defensive MVP-Xavier Galles and Jaxon Bunkers

Team MVP-Jeremy Koenck

Special Team Award-Brenden Fisch, Jaxon Bunkers, Jeremy Koenck, Austin Jensen

Scout Team Award-Brody Schorg, Alex Schroeder, Ryan Willman

District 1 Awards

First Team-Jaxon Bunkers, Xavier Galles, Jeremy Koenck, Damen Brownmiller

Second Team-Blaine Harpenau, Austin Jensen

Honorable Mention-Levi Waldschmitt, Alex Schroeder

Academic All-District Team-Blaine Harpenau, Jeremy Koenck, Xavier Galles, Jaxon Bunkers, and Alex Schroeder

All-State Awards (Iowa Print Sports Writers Association)

Team Captain-Blaine Harpenau

First Team-Xavier Galles (OL), Blaine Harpenau (Off Util), Jaxon Bunkers (LB)

Second Team-Jeremy Koenck (RB/FB)

Player of the Game Awards (Casey’s)

State Semifinals-Blaine Harpenau

State Finals-Blaine Harpenau

Hog of the Game Award (Iowa Pork Producers)

State Finals-Xavier Galles